Experiment #317

[Author experimenting with outfit: loafers; no socks; rolled up navy chinos with thin leather belt, buckle on the side; striped shirt by Zara; large fuck-off straw hat. This outfit was incredible for teaching dance outdoors all week in southern France in a hot August. Regarding pants: rolled-up high-wasted chinos are the tall lanky white man’s shorts. Regarding the hat: short-brimmed hats are now the fashion, so my wide-brimmed paper hat seemed a bit ridiculous when I bought it. However, I think every man should have an item of fashion that they love and enjoy that some other people might think is ridiculous. And that these men should wear those items proudly despite the looks and jokes they might get. Bad fashion is a statement about what you think other people want you to wear. Good fashion is a statement about yourself.]

2 thoughts on “Experiment #317

  1. I think the hat is good. Keeps the sun off, makes the silhouette happen. Overall, it’s like a mix of old-time music style and modern Italian style–minimal with a twist.

  2. “I think every man should have an item of fashion that they love and enjoy that some other people might think is ridiculous” – YES! And every woman, too.

    Nice blog, Bobby! I found it after surfing the web for the (eeek) difference between Savoy and Hollywood and stumbling upon your (ahem, lengthy- but helpful) post. ♥ Glad to know the argument is somewhat dead, so I can be up with the times. Also glad to know where I can find what seems to be every old dancing clip on the web 😉

    Back to the blog – I always remember you with a great sense of style, so this blog is perfect! Something to think about when sharing your stylish digs – should the setting compliment the subject?

    Maybe I’ll see you around – my guy and I are looking into workshops – maybe even on the east coast 🙂

    -Jodie

Leave a Reply

